Slipping, with Style

My recital piece didn’t go as planned. The music cut out at a crucial point, granted it came back on about 4 beats later, and I missed the “big trick” I’d been so excited to show everyone.

It wasn’t because I wasn’t physically capable of doing it. I wasn’t because I was reaching too far and trying something my body wasn’t equipped to execute flexible wise, I wasn’t “too fat or old” to do it. I came in a bit too fast and the pole was just too slippy. It happens to EVERYONE, even doing simple non – inverted tricks, the advanced girls will bail out if the pole is too slippy.

So no. I don’t feel bad that I missed my favorite part of my routine, my “big trick” during the recital. I didn’t have a backup move for that section, so I just danced it out. I didn’t have a choice, really. I tried to keep the emotional same-ness from the trick and just tried to convey it from a different move. I kept going.
Same thing with the music cutting out. I have a dance background so I know if the music stops, you just keep counting and going. Luckily, the music came back on with dramatic flare right when I needed it to and it made a good impression on the audience.

Afterwards, so many non-pole people made comments about how much they liked my routine. One of my teachers had two of her brothers there at the recital, neither had seen her do Pole before and hadn’t seen any non-stripping Pole Dance before. They both made a point to tell her that I “has got IT” and how well they thought I did. That they were impressed by how expressive I was and how strong I was.
And THAT was the point of the routine. THAT was what I WANTED, so how can I possibly be upset at myself? I accomplished what I set out to do!

Also, I’ve been convinced to enter an actual competition next year with that same routine. After all, if I can dance in 90 degree heat with a slippy pole, I can definitely dance in air conditioned comfort and confidently say that I WILL NAIL that favorite move of mine and dance so hard that I leave part of myself on the stage.

Leave a Reply

