I’m a Money Dancer?

I’m performing at the recital this Friday for the Pole Studio I call “home”.

I’m VERY nervous but mostly excited about it. I’m no stranger to public performance. I danced and sang from the time I could speak or take a step. But Pole?? POLE IS DIFFERENT.

My piece is NOT a badonk-a-donk piece, THERE WILL BE NO TWERKING FOR ME, it’s more dance-y with some minor-ish tricks. It’s about expression, not hardcore “hanging upside down by my pinkie toe”. I do wish I could do some of the hardcore stuff, but I’m happy with the routine I have as a whole.

My music is Chandelier by Sia, chopped down to a mere 2:04 minutes because that’s all I can do right now. Pole is hard, guys.

All my Pole Sisters that have seen it during rehearsal or Open Pole sessions have all gotten really excited about it. One even wants me to compete at the next competition, in March I think. My initial reaction is “nooooooooooooooooo” but the more I think about it, the more I think it’s possible. I’ve got a few months to fine-tune the whole routine, but the stuff I want to put in, wouldn’t be a Level 1 performance, and Mom Boss (one of the owners and one of my favorite instructors) says that for your first competition, it’s good to “go down a level” from what you actually “are”. And I know she knows what she’s talking about.

Still, that’s a-ways away; the countdown in front of me is Friday. There are some people from The Cubicle Farm going (eeeeep!) and Boyfriend might have the night off and be able to go which is really a cool thought! Some of my best friends are hoping to go, which would REALLY make me feel better.

I’m preparing myself mentally. I know I’m going to be relying heavily on the adrenaline rush I’m going to get when it’s my turn to perform. During the dress rehearsal, my instructor I’d been using to help me pull my routine together called me a “Money Dancer”. Which made me laugh and then forced me to ask “What does THAT mean???”

“You dance and you mark and you practice and it’s fine. But when the audience or a camera turns on, YOU LIGHT UP THE ROOM”, she explained.

That makes me feel much more confident that I’ll do just fine during the recital. 🙂

Leave a Reply

